My New Toy – a `Blackbook’!!!

Posted: December 8, 2006 in Apple, computers, hardware, Mac OSX
Tags: ,

 

PART ONE:

I’ve been siting on the fence for some time now with respect to whether i should get a new MacBook or not, and i finally took the plunge, made the leap, because nothing ventured nothing gained, an apple a day keeps the doctor away (okay, so the last one doesn’t quite fit in with the others, but wouldn’t that be glorious if you could afford to buy an Apple a day?)

Anyway, I thought what am i waiting for? Apple has updated this little beauty just like i hoped it would, and besides, it’s my company – I’m the owner, I answer to no one, king of the castle, master of my domain, numero uno, …well, almost. I do have to answer to the vice president in charge of fiscal operations and acquisitions (aka my wife), and there was no real opposition to the idea. Especially since it meant my old ibook would go to her, and in turn her ibook to my eldest daughter. My youngest already has an ibook so now we are all `lap-toppers’.

Getting back to the issue at hand and the subject of this musing, my new little black MacBook, 2ghz, core2duo, 2 gig of ram, 120gig HD, with superdrive. In short, this is one bad-a$$ little workhorse! A couple of complaints that are rather minor but struck me as I was unpacking my new toy. I got the black MacBook which is very nice looking, albeit a little difficult to see the connections on the side when you are plugging in a mouse or peripheral, to quote Zaphod Beeblebrox…”It’s the weird color-scheme that freaks me. Every time you try to operate one of these weird black controls, which are labeled in black on a black background, a small black light lights up black to let you know you’ve done it”.

Strangely the power adapter and the remote are white. Looks a little cheap in my opinion, I mean, if you are going to offer a black MacBook, shouldn’t everything be black? Aesthetically it’s very nice, and seems well laid out. Even though the keyboard looks quite different from the ibook I am used to, the feel of it is very much the same. I’ve heard a few complaints about noise levels of the fan, and heat problems, but whether these are just rare occurrences, or were problems with the first gen. MacBooks, which have since been fixed in the 2nd gen. core2duo models I do not know, but I am typing this with my new `book’ on my lap and do not find it uncomfortably warm or loud at all.

(to be continued…)

TCG

Please Leave a Reply

