Apple Mail not remembering passwords? It may not be what you think.

Posted: September 17, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

mail-password-error

Every once in a while, it seems that shortly after doing an update to mac OSX, Mail starts asking for my password to access my email on the server. It happened again this week.  I’d tried the standard things, clearing out the password and then re-inputing it, keychain first aid as well as deleting the passwords in my keychain, etc. but none of them seemed to work. I was pondering the problem and came up with one other thing. The Mailbox is getting full and not being cleared out? I checked my settings in Mail preferences and sure enough, i had set one of the accounts to clear out ‘after a month’ and the other to clear out ‘after a week’. if you are like me and get a ridiculous amount of email, this can amount to a very large pile for your mail app to check against and let you know if you have any new mail.  I cleared these out and sure enough, mail connected quickly and reported no new mail – the first time.  The next time it checked for new mail, i had the annoying message as above that lets me fill in my password again, over and over until i hit cancel.  Needless to say i was frustrated and annoyed.  Email is such an important part of our interaction with the world that when it is not working it can be very stressful.

Even though i was in the office, for some reason i checked my iPhone and sure enough the email was not receiving any email either and was reporting a password problem – something i’d never seen on my iPhone previously.  It was at this point that i looked at my email provider/web hosting service control panel and noticed an entry on their blog about them having problems with their email cluster.  Dang.  I had been pulling my hair out for a few hours wondering what the heck had happened and trying everything i could think of, certain it had to be at my end.  I was, of course, mistaken.  The problem was fixed a few hours later and the emails started flooding in, all without any interaction from me.

There is an old saying, “if you hear hoofbeats, don’t immediately go looking for a zebra”.  Sometimes the easiest thing is the answer.

tcg

Comments
  1. […] Apple Mail not remembering passwords? It may not be what you think 17 Sep 2009… everything i could think of, certain it had to be at my end.. “if you hear hoofbeats, don't immediately go looking for a zebra”.. – Apple Mail not remembering passwords? It may not be what you think […]

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

