New MacBook Pro 13″: the decision is made

Posted: April 19, 2010 in Apple, computers, hardware
Tags: , ,

Like many I was a bit disappointed when I read all the details of the latest MBP updates.  The speed bumps for the 15″ and 17″ version are pretty good, but not “knock your socks off” good as I, and many others i’m sure, had hoped.  The changes made to those models helped to “supercharge” them and give them better battery life and still allowed for increased performance which brings me to my point.  I’ve poured over the specs and read as much info as I could find about the changes and while most are quite good it bothered me that they didn’t change the processor in the 13″ version to the i5 or even the i3, but instead stuck with the core 2 duo they’ve had for some time, in fact it’s the same processor I have in my 3-1/2 year old MacBook, only faster.

From what I understand, there is a careful balancing act being played by Apple when it comes to performance and battery life, and that battle is very well explained in the article by Arstechnica.  This very detailed look at the chipset and the reasons why Apple did what they did, helped to solidify my decision to stick with the smaller form factor i’ve been using for years… http://arstechnica.com/…i5-upgrade.ars

Maybe you need a larger screen or more power, or discrete video card, but for me my laptop is exactly that, a computer I use mostly on my lap and the 13″ size has been perfect for me for some time.  So until my eyes get worse and I have to increase the text size on my laptop to the point that I need a larger screen, i’m sticking with portability and saving a few hundred dollars while i’m at it.

tcg

Comments
  1. […] is my form factor of choice.  I decided to upgrade anyway, as i mentioned in a previous post.  (see here for previous post) I picked up my new MBP from my fave local Apple retailer. I had to pick up a $22 Firewire 800 to […]

    Like

  2. […] is my form factor of choice.  I decided to upgrade anyway, as i mentioned in a previous post.  (see here for previous post) I picked up my new MBP from my fave local Apple retailer. I had to pick up a $22 Firewire 800 to […]

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

