Censorship and finding your personal level of acceptable expression

Posted: August 19, 2010 in blogging, social networking, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

“just because you have first ammendment rights doesn’t mean all your speech is appropriate.” – Howard Stern.

*

I don’t swear much, in my opinion it’s just not that necessary, so when i do it is to accentuate a point or to express extreme distain or displeasure and it gets noticed because it is out of character for me to do so.  I don’t have a problem with people that do swear, and I pass no judgement on them for doing so… well, mostly.

Using the ‘N” word or any derogatory term is never appropriate or acceptable in my opinion.  Regardless of whether it gets used by people to describe themselves.  Dr Laura’s recent use of it was totally inappropriate and did not prove a point or make a statement other than the fact she really doesn’t understand the intention of freedom of speech.  There are certain words that will always be offensive and most come from slang terms used in our history and used to describe a certain culture or race.  I’m sure most people can remember their grandfathers of great-grandfathers using a few, I know mine did.

We all have to decide what is right for us, and today it seems that certain profanities are more socially acceptable than before.  Expressions like “FML” are used frequently in social media (the acronym normally), heck i’ve even used it myself on occasion.  I’m surrounded by people who swear a lot.  I won’t say constantly, because i’d be pretty certain they don’t swear in their sleep, but for some people in the construction side of my business it seems you cannot string 3 words together without 1 of them being one of George Carlin’s 7 famous words. Heck even at home i’ve heard my wife come out with a well put together string of expressions that would make a Liverpool docker blush.  Cursing is definitely more noticeable than ever before, but then again, we are also more accessible than ever so it could be that the level hasn’t really changed but we are just exposed to more of it.

I even had an architect ask me the other day if I swore when we were trying to make the seemingly impossible work, my response… “no not normally, why?”… was greeted with… “mind if I do, because F*** me, this shouldn’t be so hard to do.”

Maybe it was the way I was raised – uptight english. Or maybe it was that I was taught in school that if you don’t swear in everyday life then you have less chance of accidentally doing it while on-air.  My Radio Broadcasting instructor taught me that one, with examples of screw ups that got people fired, so it kinda stuck.  There are exceptions of course, and people are forever pushing the limits when it comes to TV and radio, the person quoted at the beginning of this entry is one of the most well-known examples of that.

The same holds true in any social media setting, if you want to swear and curse go right ahead, but do so in a way that does not single out ethnic groups or people of a specific background.  Heck, i’ve even heard some late night comedy news people use the expression that rhymes with BrotherDucker  (which is bleeped out of course and probably always will be) mostly to illustrate a point, but can you imagine that word being used 20 years ago on TV or even alluded to?  Time changes social acceptance, but we should still look at the etymology of the words we use to understand their significance and background.  There is a certain somewhat vulgar “C” word that gets tossed around that is actually just a part of a boat, but has become one of the most vulgar words to call a woman, and seems only to be acceptable if used by another woman.  (Men don’t get a word like that, but we should have one I think)

Words like the “N” word, or other racial slurs are on a whole different kind of list in my opinion, and those words should have no place in conversation regardless of your take on freedom of speech.  There is a difference between swearing and vulgarities, and that list falls under the latter.

If  I wanna say the “f” word, thats up to me.  If you want to use swear words, how and where you use them is your choice THAT is the real meaning of freedom of speech.  Sure some people may not like it, but everyone is entitled to their opinion and in social media for instance, maybe those swear words lose you a few followers, or heck, maybe even gain you a few.

Now shut the f*** up and pass the effin sugar, this freakin coffee tastes like she-yat.
tcg

Comments
    • tcg says:

      Haha. i was tempted to censor that, but that would be going against my own rules. or does it? brings up an interesting point, should i censor comments or post as is? i could have went with “F**k!” and everyone would know what was said, but that’s not actually what you wrote. I suppose i could have also just amended your comment with a (edit) to let readers know i had edited it too. Hopefully i haven’t offended anyone with allowing the actual word to be displayed, but hey its my blog and my choice.
      tcg

      Like

  1. ultrasound technician says:

    Valuable info. Lucky me I found your site by accident, I bookmarked it.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

