Bucket list and looking back.

Posted: June 3, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

To-do:
Start bucket list – check.
Check items off bucket list – umm, check?

Every year around this time for the past 5, I look back and check to make sure I’ve done something I can check off my bucket list.  You know that list of things you want to do before you die, but often times, never really do anything to work towards making them happen.
Well, for me, this year was a big one, getting my motorcycle license and a motorcycle, cuz really what good is getting the license if you don’t use it. Sure, for some it may not seem like a big deal but the reason for the bucket list is the same as the reason why this item was so difficult to check off. My brother was killed while riding his motorcycle 5 years ago.

Anyone who follows me on Twitter or Facebook has probably been subjected to my travel shots of where I’ve been while on said “bike”. The photo at the top of this blog post being a perfect example.  Many sunsets have been viewed in the side mirrors of my Ninja.  Its a fun way to see the world, even though you may be seeing it from speeds a little quicker than other modes of transportation, you seem so much more in it and aware of your surroundings. I still remember fondly my first longer ride and seeing a hawk take off from it’s perch on a fence post to fly alongside me as I cruised on down the road.  If I hadn’t sucked it up, grew a pair, bit the bullet, (i’ll stop there, you get the idea without filling the blog with cliche phrases), then I wouldn’t have  experienced some of my most relaxing “zen” moments of late.

It also gets me a step closer to another bucket list item of traveling thru europe on motorcycle. I guess what I’m saying is that its good to make a bucket list, something to dream about but make sure you work towards making them happen too. You never know how long you’ve got so don’t procrastinate when it comes to checking items off your bucket list. Carpe diem.

In closing…

Bro, you are always in the back of my mind, which is probably better than on the back of my bike just yet.  You know how the extra weight makes it tough when cornering and I haven’t quite mastered that.  I’m sure you probably chuckle every time I mis-shift and chirp the clutch too.  Give me a break, i’m a old dog.

Ride on, Bro.  Ride on.

P.

Please Leave a Reply

