Ending the year write… I mean, right.

Posted: December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

winter-yearendEvery year I set goals, make lists, and plans, then spend most of my time wondering how to get them done, or sometimes if they are even possible.

One task I set for myself was the migration of my old blog/website “thatcomputerguy.ca” to its new home here, as I mentioned in a previous post.  Another nail in that coffin today as I deleted the old email address associated with that website from the servers on the hosting company and also from my MacBook Air, iPhone and iPad.  It’s a scary thing doing that, but I had been planning it for nearly a year.  Alerting everyone I could think of of the change to my email address, and auto-responding to any emails that went to that soon to be defunct address, trying to catch-all the subscriptions I had signed up for using that email addy, etc., etc., etc..  Still though, its like closing off a chunk of my life, closing the book so to speak.

But life is all about change, growing and taking chances, no matter no big or small, change is what keeps things fresh.  And what better time to make a change than this time of year, closing up, winterizing, finalizing things, looking forward to a new year, a new beginning, full of possibilities and promise.

So I say unto you, take that leap, start off the year with something new, something that scares you a little, fight back those fears of failure or doubt and just do it – embrace whatever it is with the wonderment and excitement of a child.  And make sure you stick with it, don’t just make a new year’s resolution, make it a life resolution.

I wish you all the best of the season:  Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah/Hannukah/Hanukkah (why are there so many spellings?), winter solstice, Kwanzaa, or for you east-coasters, Mummering.  Whatever you celebrate I raise a glass to you, hope you enjoy it, and return refreshed in the new year.

cheers,

barkerp

Comments
  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

