iPhone 5 iLoaner. First world problems

Posted: September 18, 2014 in Apple, backup, hardware, iphone, technology
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, as mentioned in my last post,  I sent in my iPhone 5 to be fixed.  Day after day of calling the local Apple Store paid off and I managed to get in there when they had a loaner iPhone available for me so I would not be phone-less.

The sending in to repair process is fairly easy, but the first thing to do and most important is to make sure you have a good back up before the whole process starts.  (Do this at home before you get to the store).  Then you will need to turn off Find my iPhone. Then basically they wipe the phone removing all your information and resetting it to factory.  You did a backup, right? (even so, a sense of panic sets in as you click the “erase and reset”)

The next step is for them to install a diagnostic tool that checks all the components of the phone. If anything fails they make note of it, and some things may actually stop them from continuing with the battery/wake sleep replacement and repair.  Basically the phone has to be in good condition prior to it being sent in for repair. After the diagnostic tool completes, the next step is them checking over the phone cosmetically which could take some time.  This is really a CYA thing for Apple and you.  Making sure you don’t get your phone back and come in ranting about how it now has a big scratch on the screen, etc.  Then you fill out a bunch of forms, signed a bunch of stuff, and surrender your phone to them.  Next step is doing the cosmetic inspection of the loaner phone. Which finally they set up with your Sim card in it and you can restore from iCloud, or another backup if you choose. Whole process took about 1.5 hours. Thankfully the Apple guy that was helping me was quite sociable and there was another guy at the table doing the exact same thing with the replacement/repair of his wake/sleep button. So my ambidextrous Apple genius did both at the same time only screwing up once when entering information, but caught it before anything was submitted.

It took a lot longer to restore from iCloud than anything else. But I couldn’t restore using my computer because my iPhone 5 is a 64 gig and the replacement loaner is only 16.  It kind of weird having a loaner phone.  Sort of like wearing someone else’s shoes.  Even if they are the same, they still feel somehow “off”.  It is a 7 to 10 day return period typically, which gives you just enough time to get really frustrated with the lack of storage and the missing apps and data you had to delete just so you could use the loaner.

A week later (i was checking the progress on Apple.com), it was fixed and shipped back.  I followed that along with Fedex, which stated it was delivered to the local Apple store (after a few side-trips along the way – California to Memphis TN to Mississauga to London) so I called the store and was told it was still in transit.  “Um, no, its in your store and signed for at 4:10pm” after that I was told it needed to be unpacked and logged in as received, etc, and I would get notified shortly.  I ended up calling the next morning because I still hadn’t heard and again was told it was in transit, so again I explained that “no, in fact, it was in the store”.  Put on hold, then “what was the name again?” On hold again, and then “oh yes, it’s here.”  It took longer for them to receive and unpack it than it did to get from Memphis to London.  sheesh.

IMG_0283

Strangely enough I actually got the email notification that it was ready for pickup while standing in the store at the genius bar about to wipe the loaner phone.

Anyway, I have it back, repaired and after a very lengthy restore from a combination of iCloud and then connecting to my MBA, it was back to where it was a week ago.  And just in time to throw caution to the wind and install iOS8.  I figure now is the time to potentially screw it up, since it’s all fixed and I have a good back up of it all just in case things go horribly wrong.  But that’s not going to happen, right?  After all Apple doesn’t make mistakes.  *returns to drinking the apple koolaid

barkerp

Please Leave a Reply

