Our family is a little smaller, and the hole felt is enormous

For a little dog, the hole left behind after he moves on is in no way proportional to him.

Gunner, or “our little old man”, as he was referred to in the past year or so after he all but lost his hearing, most of his teeth and started really showing his grey, passed away yesterday and his being missing from the house leaves a Saint Bernard sized hole, even though he was a chihuahua weighing in at about 6 lbs.

When I got him at Christmas back in 2003, I wasn’t sure why the wife had bought such a little dog or why a chihuahua. We’d always had large dogs, and this seemed odd, but his heart and energy and loving nature quickly made him a part of our crazy little family. Turned out I had seen a commercial on tv and made a comment about how cute the little dog was on it, and that was enough to light a spark of an idea. A spark that turned into a loving companion that would travel with us happily anywhere and always made himself right at home. He was slow to get to know people and new animals, but once he did, you were in his pack and he welcomed you with a smile, somewhat toothless of late, but a smile nonetheless (I say dogs do smile, you can see it in their eyes mostly).

Always nearby when doing anything, he was curious and maybe a little intrusive, but its easy to forgive such a sweet soul when he is finding it chilly and wants to snuggle on your lap or share your blanket. He was my little bed warmer for over a decade until he started not being able to make it thru the night without needing to pee. A trait I myself am not looking forward to acquiring but time takes its toll on us all.

Our family is smaller, and he will never be forgotten, he is going to be missed so much each and every day, his cute little face and wagging tail was always right there to greet me each morning, and every time I came home he would fight his way thru the other pets to make sure I got to pet him. Gunner, like another of our other beloved dogs, Enya who was his first adopted mom and passed shortly after he joined our family, loved pizza crusts and would wait patiently until I was finished eating and gave him a little piece. As he got older and lost his hearing, he would whimper softly, almost imperceptibly as he waited, just to make sure he wasn’t forgotten or overlooked.

RIP my little man. You made your mark on a lot of lives, and gave us so many years of happiness, I just wish I had a few more. The good do die young. Too young. Too soon. I am sure all your furry friends will be waiting for you in heaven. Now I have to make sure I’m good so I can see you again.

-barkerp

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.